clásica san sebastian

Official Presentation of the Men’s and Women’s Clásica San Sebastián

  • 25 teams are set to start in the Men’s Clásica
  • The Women’s Clásica will include 18 teams

The official presentation of the Clásica San Sebastián took place today 23 July at the San Sebastián Town Hall. Among those present were Eneko Goia, Mayor of San Sebastian, Iñaki Arriola (Regional Minister of Territorial Planning, Housing and Transport, Basque Government), Harkaitz Millán (Deputy of Culture and Sports, Gipuzkoa Provincial Council), Jon Redondo (Director of Sports, Basque Government).

The official routes and their changes were presented at the event. Leire Olaberria, Race Director of the Clásica Women’s and Julian Eraso, President of OCETA, shared their assessment of this edition with the attendees. “With last year’s halt, we were afraid that the two races would be affected, and we would not be able to reinstate them, but nothing could have been further from the truth. With the new support we have received, we will be able to move ahead with all the necessary safeguards and protocols”, commented Julián Eraso.

“We are delighted to be here again, to put Donostia and Gipuzkoa back in the spotlight of women’s cycling. The extraordinary success of the first edition will be difficult to top, but we are sure the spectacle will be just as impressive”, said Leire Olaberria. 

The provisional registration list foretells the presence of great runners such as Julian ALAPHILIPPE (Deceuninck-Quick-Step), Wilco KELDERMAN (Bora-Hansgrohe), Miguel Angel LOPEZ (Movistar), Daniel Martin (Israel Start-Up Nation), Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange), Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma), Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), Mikel Landa (Bahrain-Victorious) and Juan Ayuso (UAR Team Emirates) the great promise of national cycling among others.

The Women’s Clásica will feature the reigning champion Lucy Kennedy (Team BikeExchange), Ane Santesteban (Team BikeExchange), Ellen VAN DIJK (Trek Segafredo), Soraya PALADIN (Liv Racing) and Eider MERINO (A.R. Monex Women’s Pro Cycling Team) among other riders.

TotalEnergies new sponsor of the Clásica

The energy company is firmly committed to sponsoring activities that match its corporate values: proximity, non-conformism, integrity, and sustainability, and especially sporting activities. “Sport is one of the key areas we are going to sponsor. We believe that promoting healthy activities that improve health, well-being and quality of life is fundamental”, explains Javier Saénz de Jubera, CEO of TotalEnergies Electricidad y Gas.

Euskotren will be at the Clásica San Sebastián

“The Basque Country has a great passion for cycling. This has gone beyond the sports field to become a healthy habit of life and a form of sustainable mobility that is highly encouraged by the Basque Government. That is why it is essential that we restart competitions like this, because they promote the bicycle, both the sport and the means of transport”

Echemar, new logistics partner and the official sponsor of the Itzulia Basque Country, Itzulia Women and the Clásica San Sebastián  
Official dates announced for the Itzulia Basque Country, Itzulia Women and Clásica San Sebastián 2024
Remco Evenepoel reigns again in the Clásica San Sebastián and equals Marino Lejarreta with the most wins